Opportunities and Competitions

Inclusion in this list may in no way be construed as a recommendation by Bundaberg Writers’ Club

(NB. In general, Bundaberg Writers’ Club advises against permitting your work to be included in competition anthologies.)


Eastwood/Hills Annual Literary Competition 2020


Boree Log Bush Poetry Competition open.

Details can be found here

*Please note that cheques must be made payable to FAW( Eastwood Hills) or FAW

Closing Friday May 15, 2020.




Entries for the 2020 Bruce Dawe National Poetry Prize are open.

This year the winner will receive $3000, and two highly commended entrants will receive $500 each, with the winners announced in August. The annual prize continues to be generously endowed by Emeritus Professor Bruce Dawe AO. 

We want to see the inspiration, passion and creativity of Australian poets.

Entries close on Friday 5 June 2020.

For further information, please visit usq.edu.au/bruce-dawe-prize or email brucedaweprize@usq.edu.au.



Maureen Freer (FAWQ) Literary Competition 2020

First – $300 Second – $100 Third – $50
Entries open 9th March and close 30th June 2020

Entry Fee: $10 per entry or $20 for three entries in one or all categories (Short Story, Poetry, Article).
(Maximum six entries per person – in one or all categories)

Please visit the FAWQ website for further details and to obtain an entry form at http://www.fawq.com.au